top of page
China Pendant Lucky Charm Coin 張天師騎虎 Four Celestial Masters- Zhang Daoling Amule

China Pendant Lucky Charm Coin 張天師騎虎 Four Celestial Masters- Zhang Daoling Amulet

Chinese Pendant Charm, Lucky Charm Amulet

Four Celestial Masters- Zhang Daoling

12 Zodiacal animals and Bagua (Eight Trigram)


Chinese Charm Coin

Size: Ф 75 mm; Weight: 77 grams; Copper

Obv: Four Celestial Masters- Zhang Daoling riding tiger

Rev: Zodiacal animals and the 12 earthly branches 子, 丑, 寅, 卯, 辰, 巳, 午, 未, 申, 酉, 戌, 亥

(used cyclically in the calendar and as ordinal number).


Zhang Ling (simplified Chinese: 张陵; traditional Chinese: 張陵; pinyin: Zhāng Líng; Wade–Giles: Chang Ling; traditionally 34–156), courtesy name Fuhan (simplified Chinese: 辅汉; traditional Chinese: 輔漢), was an Eastern Han Dynasty Taoist figure credited with founding the Way of the Celestial Masters sect of Taoism, which is also known as the Way of the Five Pecks of Rice.

He is also known as Zhang Daoling (simplified Chinese: 张道陵; traditional Chinese: 張道陵; pinyin: Zhāng Dàolíng; Wade–Giles: Chang Tao-ling), Celestial Master Zhang (張天師, Zhāng tiānshī), Ancestral Celestial Master (祖天師, Zǔtiānshī) or Zhengyi Zhenren (正一真人) to Taoists. Zhang is sometimes pictured riding on a tiger. In some Taoist sects, Zhang, along with Ge Xuan, Xu Xun (许逊) and Sa Shoujian (萨守坚), are called the "Four Celestial Masters" (四大天師).




Ancient Chinese Zodiac Charms

Origin and History of the 12 Animals and the 12 Earthly Branches

Through observation, ancient Chinese astronomers calculated the orbit of Jupiter to be approximately 12 years and, therefore, divided the celestial circle into 12 parts. This time system was gradually applied to the Earth year with one Old Chinese zodiac charmEarthly Branch associated with each month of the year. The Earthly Branches (地支) consist of 子 (zi), 丑 (chou), 寅 (yin), 卯 (mao), 辰 (chen), 巳 (si), 午 (wu), 未 (wei), 申 (shen), 酉 (you), 戌 (xu) and 亥 (hai).

By the time of the Spring and Autumn Period (770 - 476 BCE), the Earthly Branches had already become linked to the 12 animals (生肖) of the Chinese zodiac. These animals are the Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Sheep, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Boar (Pig).

The linking of a person's birth year with a particular zodiac animal started during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25 - 220 AD) and became quite in vogue during the Tang Dynasty (618 -907 AD).

Chinese Pendant Charms

Beginning at least as early as the Han Dynasty (206 BC - 230 AD), the Chinese started to wear charms as pendants around their necks, to hang from their waists, or to attach to rafters of houses, temples, pagodas or other important structures. Some scholars Old Chinese
pendant charm believe that Chinese open work charms were among the first to be used for dress ornamentation and decoration purposes.

Over the centuries, Chinese charms for various purposes and of different shapes gradually developed. Some were meant to be part of daily wear. Others were worn only on special holidays or for important rituals.

Some of these more specialized types of charms, all with loop or eyelets and meant to be worn as opposed to carried, are discussed in detail in their own sections. For example, fish charms were worn by children and adults to help protect and inspire them as they faced various life crises. Lock charms were worn by children for protection as well as to promote good luck, wealth, rank and longevity. Peach charms were also worn to promote longevity as were gourd charms. Spade charms were meant to imitate an ancient form of shovel money.

The following are Chinese charms of a different type but which also have loops for wearing as pendants on necklaces or hung from the waist.


Shipping and Payment:
Economy Regular mail shipping: 3.99 Euro worldwide (buyer's risk!)

Registered mail shipping:
11.50 Euro within Europe, 16.50 Euro worldwide, Combined shipping accepted.

China Pendant Lucky Charm Coin 張天師騎虎 Four Celestial Masters- Zhang Daoling Amule

    bottom of page